Kennesaw State University Foundation names new chair, honors individuals for outstanding service

James Dunn
James P. Dunn

Longtime trustee James Dunn to lead KSU Foundation

KENNESAW, Ga. (Oct 31, 2017) — James P. Dunn, retired president of Heidelberg Americas, Inc. and interim chief operating officer of the KSU Foundation, has been named chair of the Kennesaw State University Foundation. He succeeds Jo Ann Chitty, who served as chair of the Foundation since October 2014. 

Dunn spent his 35-year career working for Heidelberg Americas, Inc., where he retired as president in 2012, overseeing the North and South American markets. He began working as a controller for the global print solutions provider in 1977 and served as chief financial officer in various divisions of the company.

A member of the Foundation’s Board of Trustees since 2005, Dunn chaired the finance and compensation committee, and has been involved with numerous Foundation committees during his tenure. Earlier this year, he stepped into an interim appointment as chief operating officer for the KSU Foundation. While serving as COO, Dunn’s role as Foundation chair will be temporarily filled by Trent Turk, vice chair-chair elect of the Foundation and owner of GeoSurvey, Ltd.

The Foundation’s Board of Trustees annual awards, which recognize five individuals who provided outstanding service and contributions to the University, were presented during the Foundation’s Board of Trustees annual dinner in Atlanta on Oct. 18.  The 2017 awards include:

The 2017 Clarice C. Bagwell Medal for Distinguished Service was presented to Theodore L. Parrish, president and chief investment officer of Parrish Capital, for advancing the leadership position of Kennesaw State University. A Foundation trustee for seven years, Parrish was recognized for his efforts in selecting a new investment firm to manage the endowment. He has served on the planned giving and gift acceptance committee, the finance and compensation committee, and as chair of the investment subcommittee for the past two years.

The 2017 Erwin Zaban Prize for Entrepreneurial Spirit was presented to Steven I. Cadranel, president of Arris Realty Partners, for managing the real estate portfolio for the KSU Foundation. Through Cadranel’s leadership, the Foundation procured a master lease for Chastain Pointe and negotiated a memorandum of understanding for housing with the University.

The 2017 Horace W. Sturgis Award was presented to Julie B. Kimball, retired president of Summit Financial Solutions, for her role in establishing a new Foundation initiative. Kimball led efforts to reorganize and restructure the student financial support committee to provide financial assistance to students and support student recruitment and retention. A trustee with Kennesaw State since 2014, she previously served as a trustee for the Southern Polytechnic Foundation since 2004.

The 2017 Kalafut Award for Exceptional Services was presented to Bob M. Prillaman, who is the KSU Foundation’s longest-serving trustee, having served the campus community since 1983. Prillaman has served the KSU Foundation on myriad committees, including the deferred giving, economic development, community engagement and executive committees, during his nearly 35 years of service.

The 2017 Chairman’s Award was presented to James P. Dunn, retired president of Heidelberg Americas, Inc, who has been a champion for both Kennesaw State University and the Kennesaw State Foundation. A member of the Board of Trustees since 2005, Dunn was selected for his willingness to assume the position of interim chief operating office for the Foundation, which demonstrated his leadership and commitment to the University and the KSU Foundation.

The Kennesaw State University Foundation was founded by 23 businessmen from five Georgia counties in 1969, six years after Kennesaw Junior College was chartered. The Foundation has been instrumental in Kennesaw State’s remarkable growth through scholarships, real estate acquisitions and construction, faculty recognition, and other necessary financial support.


A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit