Student Affairs holds Inaugural Awards Ceremony

 Chesnut Crawford Delaney
(Left to right, Student of the Year Finalists: Khylil Chestnut, Jaiva Crawford and Ryan Delaney)

More than 100 nominations submitted for two-dozen awards

MARIETTA, Ga. (May 11, 2016) — The Division of Student Affairs recently honored two dozen individuals and organizations from among more than 100 nominations during its Inaugural Awards Ceremony at the Theater in the Joe Mack Wilson Student Center on the Marietta Campus.

Kennesaw State University’s Division of Student Affairs is home to 11 departments that provide opportunities for learning outside the classroom through offering a wide variety of programs and services for students.

The University has more than 350 student organizations that sponsor activities and events each year, contributing to the life of Kennesaw State’s two campuses. 

“This event recognized the outstanding achievements of Kennesaw State student organizations and individuals for the 2015-16 academic year,” said Kathy Alday, assistant vice president for Student Affairs.

“The new Kennesaw State University would not be as great an institution as it is without the hard work and dedication every day of our students, student organizations, faculty and staff members, and community members,” Alday added. 

Executive Director of Career Services Ana Baida served as chair of the Inaugural Awards Committee. Aaron Roberson, student assistant in the Department of Marketing and Professional Sales, served as emcee.

Student organizations and individuals honored at the Inaugural Awards event included:

Division of Student Affairs Overall Awards

Student of the Year: Jaiva Crawford

Advisor of the Year: Christopher Carter

Organization of the Year: KSU Motorsports

Adult Learner Programs

Mentor of the Year: Elainey Jones

Collaboration, Leadership and Service: George Hart

Outstanding Adult Learner: Brenda Owens

Center for Student Leadership

Outstanding Owl Leadership Fellow: Samantha Abney

Outstanding Engaged Owl Leader Coordinator: Marissa Jordan

Outstanding Peer Leader: Joseph McCrary

Fraternity and Sorority Life

Greek Man of the Year: George Greig-Dunn, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

Greek Woman of the Year: Maya Choucair, Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority

Greek Chapter of the Year: Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

International Student Retention Services

Services Sudden Impact Award: Muhammad Bilal

Helping Hands Award: Henriette N’kodia

ISA Spirit Award: Giuseppe De Fazio

Sports and Recreation

Engaged Student Award: Dallas Hall 

Student Legacy Award: Caitlee Greene 
Student Employee of the Year: Kyler Brady 

Student Life

SGA Member of the Year: Lily Roche 
Organization Leader of the Year: Cooper Lewis 

Student Media

Editor of the Year: Carson Long

Manager of the Year: Michael Moore

Volunteer KSU

Community Rising Star Award: Michael Simpson 

You Make A Difference Award: Janet Clark

Change Agent of the Year Award: City of Kennesaw/Kimberly Flores 


A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit