Teaching and Master Fellows to be inducted into I-IMPACT program

Kennesaw Hall Crowded.JPG

KENNESAW, Ga. (Jan. 29, 2013) — Stay-at-home moms and other career changers are on their way…

Georgia (Jan 30, 2013)KENNESAW, Ga. (Jan. 29, 2013) — Stay-at-home moms and other career changers are on their way to becoming middle and high school chemistry and physics teachers in a teaching fellows program designed to transform qualified professionals into educators. A master fellows program also prepares teachers who want to become education leaders. The two-part program is funded by the National Science Foundation.

WHAT: Induction ceremony for the Initiative to Inspire and Mentor Physics and Chemistry Teachers(I-IMPACT). The program is a partnership between Kennesaw State University and Georgia Institute of Technology. This is the second year of the program. The teaching fellows program is specially designed for qualified professionals who want to become 7-12th grade physics or chemistry teachers. The master teaching fellows program is designed for teachers who want to become leaders in education.

Each of the teaching and master fellows receive annual $10,000 stipends during the five-year program, totaling $50,000 per participant. Additional funds are available for graduate tuition, professional development activities, memberships in professional organizations, travel and supplies for classroom activities.

WHO: Six teaching fellows and 10 master teaching fellows will be inducted. This year’s inductees in the teaching fellows program include: stay-at-home moms, who were formerly engineers; a career-changing engineer and a former physics major who entered the financial services industry and wants to become a teacher.

Teaching Fellows:

·         Eden Hunt, physics, Marietta, Ga., stay-at-home mom

·         Tracey Beyer, physics, Dallas, Ga., stay-at-home mom

·         Jacquelyn Brennan, physics, Cartersville, Ga, stay-at-home mom

·         Doug Pekkanen, physics, Marietta, Ga., financial services industry/ physics major

·         Kristen Powell, chemistry, Apison, Tenn., Georgia Tech graduate, chemistry major

·         Steven Anchors, physics, Lawrenceville, Ga., engineering industry


Master Teaching Fellows, listed by their school districts:

·         Berkil Alexander, physics, Cobb County

·         Philip Matthews, physics, Cobb County

·         Shelley Howerton, physics, Cobb County

·         Amanda Amos, chemistry, Marietta City Schools\

·         Rebecca Howell, physics, Fulton County

·         Bradley Davis, physics, Fulton County

·         Justin Harvey, physics, Gwinnett County

·         Micah Porter, chemistry, Gwinnett County

·         Rachel Washburn, chemistry, Gwinnett County

·         Cheree Vaughn, chemistry, Paulding County



Friday, Feb. 1, 2013, 4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Induction reception, speakers and refreshments


WHERE: The Science Laboratory Building Atrium

Kennesaw State University, 1000 Chastain Road, Kennesaw, Ga. 30144




Kennesaw State University is the third-largest university in Georgia, offering more than 80 graduate and undergraduate degrees, including doctorates in education, business and nursing and a new Ph.D. in international conflict management. A member of the University System of Georgia, Kennesaw State is a comprehensive, residential institution with a growing student population of more than 24,600 from 130 countries.


A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit kennesaw.edu