Kennesaw State’s Foundation honors outstanding service to the University

Vince Dooley 2 award.jpg

Awards presented during KSU Foundation Board of Trustees’ annual celebration Cover photo:…

Georgia (Oct 15, 2013)Awards presented during KSU Foundation Board of Trustees’ annual celebration

Cover photo: Kennesaw State President Daniel S. Papp and KSU Foundation Chair Connie L. Engel present Vincent Dooley with the Clarice C. Bagwell Medal for Distinguished Service. 

Click here for image of Andre Schnabl receiving the Erwin Zaban Prize for Entrepreneurial Spirit

Click here for image of James Dunn receiving the Chairman's Award

Click here for image of Chet Austin receiving the Horace W. Sturgis Award


KENNESAW, Ga. (Oct. 15, 2013) — The Kennesaw State University Foundation honored four individuals who have provided outstanding service to the University during the Board of Trustees’ annual dinner at the Renaissance Atlanta Waverly Hotel & Convention Center in Atlanta.

The 44th annual dinner was attended by more than 150 people and saluted the contributions of the Foundation to the University’s progress and expansion.

Four awards were presented by Kennesaw State President Daniel S. Papp and Kennesaw State Foundation Chair Connie L. Engel to recognize the honorees’ significant contributions and outstanding service to the Foundation and the University:

The 2013 Clarice C. Bagwell Medal for Distinguished Service was presented to Vincent Dooley, former head coach at the University of Georgia and chair of Kennesaw State’s football exploratory committee, for his unselfish and tireless efforts promoting and championing KSU Football and KSU Athletics. Since January 2010, Dooley has served as chair of the Kennesaw State Football Feasibility Committee, spearheaded athletic fundraising, and acted as the face of the campaign to bring football to the University.

The 2013 Erwin Zaban Prize for Entrepreneurial Spirit was presented to Andre Schnabl, former managing partner at Grant Thornton, LLP and a Kennesaw State trustee, for his service on the Finance and Compensation Committee and the Audit Committee. This year, Schnabl served as the chair of the Internal Control Task Force, which was established to set accounting and organizational controls and procedures.

The 2013 Chairman’s Award was presented to James Dunn, former president of Heidelberg USA and a KSU trustee, for his leadership role within the Foundation over the last few years. He served on the Chairman’s Cabinet, the Executive Committee, and the Finance and Compensation Committee.  Last year Dunn agreed to lead the KSU Foundation Reserve Policy Task Force, which was organized to set cash reserves and to identify internal and external risks.

The 2013 Horace W. Sturgis Award was presented to Chet Austin, co-founder and former CEO of Tip Top Poultry and a member of the KSU Board of Trustees since 2005. Austin has been a champion for both Kennesaw State University and the Board of Trustees. He has been an advocate and major donor for continuing education and serves on the advisory board for both the College of Continuing Education and Leadership and the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute. 

The Kennesaw State Foundation was founded by 23 businessmen from five Georgia counties in 1969, just six years after Kennesaw Junior College opened its doors.  The Foundation, which has existed for the past 44 of the University’s 50 years, has been instrumental in Kennesaw State’s remarkable growth through scholarships, real estate acquisitions and construction, faculty recognition, and other necessary financial support.


# # #


Kennesaw State University is the third-largest university in Georgia, offering 90 graduate and undergraduate degrees, including doctorates in education, business and nursing and a Ph.D. in international conflict management. A member of the University System of Georgia, Kennesaw State is a comprehensive, residential institution with a growing student population of more than 24,600 from 130 countries.


A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its more than 41,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia and the second-largest university in the state. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the region and from 126 countries across the globe. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit