Kennesaw State honors outstanding faculty, staff


Recipients of KSU Foundation Distinguished Faculty Awards, staff awards honored at annual…

Georgia (Aug 15, 2013)Recipients of KSU Foundation Distinguished Faculty Awards, staff awards honored at annual ceremonies

The Kennesaw State University Foundation awarded $127,500 to outstanding faculty and staff across the university at ceremonies on Aug. 14.

The foundation distributed $110,000 in cash and awards for professional development to Kennesaw State professors who excelled this past year at teaching, research and/or creative activities and service at the 2013 Faculty Awards Ceremony. The prizes included several from the KSU Foundation, including the KSU Foundation Distinguished Professor Award.

“Kennesaw State University is grateful to the KSU Foundation for the variety of recognition programs and professional development funding for faculty and staff,” said KSU Provost Ken Harmon. “The overall amount of funding provided by the foundation exceeds that of any other university at any level.

Harmon noted that the foundation presented the annual Clendenin Graduate Fellows Awards earlier this summer.

“Retired BellSouth Chairman and Chief Executive John Clendenin and his family endowed the Clendenin Graduate Fellows Program in 2008. The goal of the Clendenin Graduate Fellows program is to identify and attract outstanding individuals who are committed to completing their master’s or doctoral program.”

“We are pleased to have Ms. Connie Engel, chairman of the KSU Foundation Board of Trustees, with us today,” Harmon said. “Please join me I thanking the foundation for its exceptional support and recognition of faculty excellence at KSU.”

The top faculty award, the $17,000 KSU Foundation Distinguished Professor Award, was given to Professor of English Martha Bowden, whom Harmon kiddingly called “a triple-threat faculty member” in highlighting her successful career at KSU.

“Our recipient is a prolific nationally and internationally recognized scholar, an award-winning teacher and a dedicated professional service leader. Having held numerous leadership roles, our recipient sees her scholarship, teaching, and professional service as inseparable elements of a faculty member’s professional identity and has exemplified that belief in her 20-year career,” said Harmon.

For the first time, Kennesaw State administrators and staff were recognized during the same ceremony by President Daniel S. Papp.

Nicole Densmore, administrative specialist in the office of the dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, was recognized as staff employee of the year; Luetta Hassis, associate director of telecommunications in the department of information technology services, was recognized as administrator of the year. Each was awarded $5,000.

Other faculty awards:

KSU Foundation Distinguished Teaching Award:Pam Marek, professor of psychology, for her dedication to student success and her authoring or co-authoring of more than 20 chapters and articles on teaching, 13 teaching resources and more than 47 conference presentations, recognized as one of the most prolific authors by one of the most noted peer-reviewed journals on teaching

KSU Foundation Distinguished Research and Creative Activity Award: David Jones, professor of philosophy, in recognition of an academic career that has resulted in more than 100 articles, chapters and books, and more than 120 presentations locally, nationally and internationally

KSU Foundation Distinguished Professional Service Award:David Johnson, professor of English, in recognition of his institutional professional service in developing and implementing the extremely successful Intensive English Program Center

KSU Foundation Prize for Publications or Creative Activity:

Harrison Long (College of the Arts), for his theater production “Splittin’ the Raft: the Frederick Douglass/Huck Finn Arts Education Initiative

Stacy Campbell (Michael J. Coles College of Business), for her article “Generational Differences in Work Values: Leisure and Extrinsic Increasing, Social and Intrinsic Decreasing”

Susan Stockdale (Bagwell College of Education), for her article “Development of the Pro-SDLS: A Measure of Self-Direction in Learning Based on the Personal Responsibility Orientation Model”

Jackie Jones and Linda Treiber (WellStar College of Health and Human Services), for their article “When the Five Rights Go Wrong: Medication Errors from the Nursing Perspective”

Albert G. Way (College of Humanities and Social Sciences), for his book “Conserving Southern Longleaf”

Yuliya Babenko (College of Science and Mathematics), for her article “Sharp Asymptotics of the LP Approximation Error for Interpolation on Block Partitions”

Other distinguished staff awards:

Tisha McCalla, academic division

Debra Hill, administrative division

Joan Brown, campus division

Staff Senate scholarships:

Sharlene Barbara Calloway, Latosha James and Janet McGovern


A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit