Kennesaw State football joins Big South Conference as associate member

Owl new image001.jpg

Owls to play inaugural season in 2015 KENNESAW, Ga.  (Sept. 4, 2013) —University…

Georgia (Sep 4, 2013)Owls to play inaugural season in 2015

KENNESAW, Ga.  (Sept. 4, 2013) —University president Daniel S. Papp formally announced today that Kennesaw State University has accepted an invitation to join the Big South Conference as an associate member in football beginning in 2015. The Owls will immediately be eligible for the Big South’s championship and automatic bid to the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) Playoffs upon entry.

Kennesaw State’s remaining 17 intercollegiate athletic teams will continue to compete in the Atlantic Sun Conference. KSU has been a member of the A-Sun Conference since 2005.

"We are extremely pleased to join the Big South Conference as an associate member for football, and look forward to participating in the conference when we play our first football games in 2015,” Papp said. “We also look forward to continuing to be an active member of our current conference, the Atlantic Sun, in all other sports in which we participate.

“We thank everyone in the Big South who has made our associate membership for football in the conference possible, and we thank everyone in the Atlantic Sun for their support as well," Papp added.

“The Big South Conference is very pleased to welcome Kennesaw State University as a football member. We have been impressed by the Owls' leadership and commitment to building a strong FCS program with integrity and character,” Big South Conference Commissioner Kyle B. Kallander said. “The addition of Kennesaw State reflects the Big South's commitment to FCS football and to providing opportunities for our student-athletes to compete for Conference and NCAA championships. The Big South Conference members are excited about Kennesaw State joining the League and its inclusion for the 2015 season.”

“This is another major step in the development of Kennesaw State University and the Department of Athletics,” Director of Athletics Vaughn Williams said. “Once the football program was announced, the next task was to find a conference for our football team and we are excited about joining the Big South Conference and becoming a part of a league that has sent multiple teams to the FCS playoffs in recent years.

“Kennesaw State is very fortunate to be associated with two great conferences in the Atlantic Sun Conference and now the Big South Conference,” Williams added. “We look forward to our football program building great traditions and rivalries in the Big South, just as our other athletic teams are doing in the Atlantic Sun Conference.”

The addition of Kennesaw State, which will play its inaugural season in 2015, will return the Big South to seven Division I FCS members, joining Charleston Southern, Coastal Carolina, Gardner-Webb, Liberty, Presbyterian College and associate member Monmouth, which will join the Big South in 2014. The Owls’ associate membership is for four years.

“We are extremely excited to join the Big South Conference and compete against the current membership,” head coach Brian Bohannon said. “The geographical makeup of the Big South will allow us to establish regional rivalries and enable our students and fans the opportunity to support us on the road.

“We look forward to building a competitive team as quickly as possible and begin contending for the Big South Conference championship and an FCS playoff berth,” Bohannon added.

Kennesaw State formally added football on Feb. 14, 2013 and hired Bohannon as its first head football coach on March 24. Since that time, Bohannon has hired six assistant coaches and a director of football operations. In addition, KSU has surpassed 1,300 football season ticket deposits and will officially unveil the team’s helmet on Sept. 13. Bohannon and his staff will sign their first recruiting class in February.

Keep up with Kennesaw State Athletics by following KSU on Twitter @KSUOwlNation or by liking Kennesaw State Owls on Facebook.

KENNESAW STATE:Community. Innovation. Engagement. For the past 50 years, Kennesaw State University has embodied and embraced these values. From a fledgling junior college to Georgia's third-largest university, Kennesaw State has been dedicated to providing students with the tools they need to become capable, visionary and ethical leaders who are engaged global citizens. Today, Kennesaw State offers more than 90 graduate and undergraduate degrees to a growing population of 24,600 students representing more than 130 countries. Nationally recognized as a leader in first-year programs and international education, Kennesaw State is dedicated to being a leader in developing curriculum that prepares students to move forward in a fast-changing world.

KENNESAW STATE ATHLETICS:Kennesaw State University competes at the NCAA Division I level, sponsors 18 intercollegiate athletic teams (eight men and 10 women), 17 of which compete in the Atlantic Sun Conference. Football will begin competing in the Big South Conference in 2015. KSU has been a member of the A-Sun Conference since 2005, following its transition to Division I. The program began as an NAIA member in 1982 before moving to NCAA Division II in 1994. Owls athletics teams have captured one NAIA national championship (baseball, 1994) and six NCAA Division II national titles (baseball, 1996), softball (1995 and 1996), women’s soccer (2003) and men’s basketball (2004).

ABOUT THE BIG SOUTH CONFERENCE ( in 1983, the Big South Conference has matured into a competitive leader in college athletics, actively pursuing excellence on the field of play and in the classroom.  Celebrating its 30th Anniversary in 2013-14, the League’s growing presence as an NCAA Division I athletic conference is evident by athletic accomplishments on the national stage, innovative marketing and media partnerships, increased television packages and quality athletic competition while intentionally fostering the academic, personal, social, athletic and leadership development of its student-athletes.  Comprised of 12 member institutions throughout the Southeast -- Campbell University, Charleston Southern University, Coastal Carolina University, Gardner-Webb University, High Point University, Liberty University, Longwood University, Presbyterian College, Radford University, UNC Asheville, Virginia Military Institute and Winthrop University -- the Big South Conference’s institutions have a remarkable history of achievement and continues to succeed on the field and in the classroom through the League’s 19 championship sports.  The Big South Conference: Developing Leaders Through Athletics.

-#GoKSUOwls -








A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit