Kennesaw State’s Foundation bestows several awards at 43rd annual celebration

Kennesaw Hall Crowded.JPG

Awards presented to honor outstanding service to Foundation KENNESAW, Ga. (Nov. 5, 2012) —…

Georgia (Oct 26, 2012)Awards presented to honor outstanding service to Foundation

KENNESAW, Ga. (Nov. 5, 2012) — The Kennesaw State University Foundation recently honored former and current members of the Foundation Board of Trustees at its Annual Dinner held at the Four Seasons Hotel in downtown Atlanta. Connie L. Engel, a partner with Childress Klein Properties, is the newly installed chair of the KSU Foundation. 

“KSU would not be the third-largest university in Georgia today without the generous support and superb leadership provided by the Foundation,” said Kennesaw State President Daniel S. Papp. “As we prepare to celebrate the University’s 50th anniversary next year, I am reminded every day what a huge difference this Foundation has made in the evolution of this institution.”

The event, held in late October, saluted the contributions by the Foundation to the University’s progress and expansion. The 43rd Anniversary Annual Dinner was attended by more than 150 people, including members of the board of trustees, trustee emeriti and active trustee members.

Malinda Jolley Mortin received the President’s Award in recognition of her many years of service on behalf of Kennesaw State. Mortin, who served as a trustee on the KSU Foundation from 1982-1996 and was awarded the Clarice C. Bagwell Medal for Distinguished Service in 1993, is one of Kennesaw State’s longstanding friends.

The following four awards also were presented by Papp and Engel to recognize the contributions of several Foundation members:

  • The Horace W. Sturgis Award was presented to Lawrence D. Wheeler, retired, senior vice president, Bank of America, in recognition of his commitment and dedication to the University, the Foundation and the community at large. He served on the board for 18 years and led a task force to implement the Real Estate Acquisition and Development Policy and Procedure Manual.
  • The Clarice C. Bagwell Medal for Distinguished Service was presented to Barry Hyman, principal, Veracor. In recognition of this award, the board noted Hyman’s tireless work to advance the leadership position of the University in higher education. He also has worked to promote Kennesaw State in communities where the University is lesser known and helped cultivate new relationships with prospective donors.  
  • James Dunn, president, Heidelberg USA, received the Erwin Zaban Prize for Entrepreneurial Spirit. The award is presented to an individual who exemplifies entrepreneurial spirit, values and accomplishments. Dunn has served on the Chairman's Cabinet, the Executive Committee and the Finance Committee. He also has chaired the Nominating and Governance Committee.
  • The Chairman's Award was given to the Foundation’s chair-elect Jo Ann Chitty, senior vice president, Development, Acquisitions and Finance at Selig Enterprises, Inc. The award recognizes an outstanding individual whose contribution of time and energy inspire staff and other volunteers and whose talents clearly benefit the University and the community.

The Foundation, which has existed for the past 43 of the University’s 49 years, has been instrumental in Kennesaw State’s remarkable growth through scholarships, real estate acquisitions and construction, and other necessary financial support.


# # #


Kennesaw State University is the third-largest university in Georgia, offering more than 80 graduate and undergraduate degrees, including doctorates in education, business and nursing and a new Ph.D. in international conflict management. A member of the 35-unit University System of Georgia, Kennesaw State is a comprehensive, residential institution with a growing student population of more than 24,600 from 130 countries.



A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit