Kennesaw State honors outstanding faculty, staff

barbara blake.jpg

Kennesaw State honors outstanding faculty, staff Recipients of KSU Foundation Distinguished Faculty…

Georgia (Aug 16, 2012)Kennesaw State honors outstanding faculty, staff

Recipients of KSU Foundation Distinguished Faculty Awards, staff awards honored at annual ceremonies

The Kennesaw State University Foundation awarded more than $150,000 to outstanding faculty and staff across the university at ceremonies on Aug. 15.

The foundation gave out $147,500 in cash and awards for professional development to Kennesaw State professors who excelled this past year at teaching, research and/or creative activities and service at the 2012 Faculty Awards Ceremony. The prizes included the Holder Professional Development Awards, funded by former foundation chair Tommy Holder, and the KSU Foundation Distinguished Faculty Awards.

“The amount of cash and faculty development funding provided by the KSU Foundation exceeds that of any other university at any level,” said Senior Vice Provost Teresa Joyce. “We thank the foundation for its exceptional support and recognition of faculty excellence at KSU.”

The top faculty award, the $17,000 KSU Foundation Distinguished Professor Award, was given to Associate Professor of Nursing Barbara Blake for her research on AIDS and HIV community-based initiatives.

“Her research, creative activity and professional service contributions have been exceptional, garnering numerous awards and recognitions and resulting in over $1 million in funding to support both research and community development initiatives,” said Kennesaw State President Daniel S. Papp. “Students and colleagues recognize her as an innovative teacher who effortlessly incorporates her research and professional service identities into her teaching and mentoring of her students.”

In a separate ceremony, also on Aug. 15, Kennesaw State administrators and staff were recognized. Cathy Bradford, director of learning communities, was recognized as staff employee of the year; Rifka Mayani, associate director of operations for enterprise systems and services, was recognized as administrator of the year. Each was awarded $5,000.


Other faculty awards:

KSU Foundation Distinguished Teaching Award: Jonathan Lewin, professor of mathematics, for his dedication to student success and his innovations in teaching with technology

KSU Foundation Distinguished Research and Creative Activity Award: Laurence Sherr, professor of music, in recognition of an academic career that has produced more than 35 musical compositions and of his scholarship of music about the Holocaust

KSU Foundation Distinguished Professional Service Award: Meghan Burke, professor of mathematics, in recognition of her institutional and external professional service


KSU Foundation Prize for Publications or Creative Activity:

Ming Chen(College of the Arts), for her textbook titled “Visual Literacy for Theatre”

Rongbing Huang(Michael J. Coles College of Business), for his article “Managing Underwriters and the Marketing of Seasoned Equity Offerings”

Robert DeVillar and Binbin Jiang(Bagwell College of Education), for their book “Transforming America: Cultural Cohesion, Educational Achievement and Global Competitiveness”

Jackie Jones(WellStar College of Health and Human Services), for her article “Developing Critical Thinking in the Perioperative Environment”

Jeffrey Helms and Daniel Rogers(College of Humanities and Social Sciences), for their book “Majoring in Psychology: Achieving Your Educational and Career Goals”

Nikolaos Kidonakis(College of Science and Mathematics), for his article “Next-to-Next-to-Leading Soft-Gluon Corrections for the Top Quark Cross Section and Transverse Momentum Distribution”


Holder Professional Development Awards:

Tyra Burton(marketing),travel funding for training to enhance the content of a new social marketing course

Joe DeMaio(mathematics and statistics),travel funding to support activities designed to increase undergraduate research in the mathematical sciences

Maia Hallward(political science, international affairs and international conflict management), travel funding to gather case materials for her research on the Palestinian nonviolent resistance

Xueya Hauge(biology and physics),to attend advanced training workshops related to her genetic research

Leena Her(inclusive education), travel funding to support her ethnographic study of ethnic minority schooling in Laos

Linda Hightower(visual arts), travel funding to support her participation in residencies at several international arts/crafts collectives

Tanja Link(sociology and criminal justice), travel support for training related to the development of an “inside-out” at Kennesaw State

Rebecca Makus(theatre and performance arts),travel support to present invited lecture and lead workshops at the annual time wave conference

Lynn Patterson and Vanessa Slinger-Friedman(geography and anthropology), travel related to the development of digital interactive modules for social issues/geographic perspectives course

Mark Patterson and Nancy Pullen(geography and anthropology),travel support for development of materials to enrich student online learning in physical geography

Kristen Seaman(visual arts),travel support for her research on marble Aphrodite statuettes from the agora in Athens, Greece

Maria Shaheen(elementary and early childhood education),travel funding to assist in her research on innovative educational practices


Other distinguished staff awards:

Denise Robbins, academic division

Bernard Anderson, administrative division

David Van Hook, campus division


A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit