All Boards Day honors retiree group, benefactors

A crowd of more than 200 people gathered on March 30 for Kennesaw State University’s 13th…

Georgia (Apr 12, 2012)

Joseph D. Meeks, KSU’s interim vice president of advancement and dean of the College of the Arts, introduced KSU President Daniel S. Papp, who praised the hard work and dedication of the KSU Foundation and its chairman Norman J. Radow “for his leadership and support” of KSU’s mission.
In addition, the KSU Retiree Steering Committee was honored for its work on behalf of the university as the Board of the Year and Richard and Diann Labroff were recognized as the 2012 Board Members of the Year for their efforts spanning more than a decade.
“Reading the nominations provided abundant evidence that the time spent by each of you sitting in this room has made and is making an enormous difference for Kennesaw State University,” said Teresa Joyce, associate provost for academic affairs, who served on the committee that reviews the award nominations.
Also serving on the committee with Joyce were Nancy King, executive assistant for strategic initiatives, and Jorge Perez, faculty executive assistant to the president.
“In the three short years that the KSU Retirees Association has been in existence, a Website, a newsletter and a Facebook page have been created to keep retirees connected to the university,” Joyce said. “The committee has partnered with campus departments to host athletic, musical, education and social events to allow retired employees to continue to be a part of campus life.”
Joyce also praised the group’s formation of the Retiree Legacy Scholarship last May. “Within four months of starting the outreach for this scholarship, donations from more than 60 retirees provided enough support for two KSU students to each be awarded $1,000 for the 2011-12 academic year,” she said.

Turning next to the Labroffs, Joyce said the couple’s nomination was endorsed by the College of the Arts, Athletics and “other campus groups who enjoy the Labroffs’ support throughout the year. They are truly outstanding advocates for Kennesaw State University.”

The Labroffs have served on the Foundation’s Scholarship Committee and on the selection committee for the Clendenin Graduate Fellows Program for several years. The nominating letter noted that the Labroffs spent more than 40 hours reviewing the more than 60 scholarship applications and meeting with some of the candidates this past year. As loyal KSU supporters, Joyce said, “the Labroffs can be spotted at campus events throughout the year … in all types of weather and they stay through the end of each event!”

Accepting the award on behalf of her and her husband, Diann Labroff, a KSU alumna, said “The campus is continually changing and Kennesaw State is making steady progress, getting better all the time. It’s an honor to serve Kennesaw State University, and we look forward to helping it become an excellent university.”




A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit