KSU's teaching program boosted

by Jon Gillooly   KENNESAW — The U.S. Department of Education awarded Kennesaw State…

Georgia (Oct 6, 2009)

by Jon Gillooly
KENNESAW — The U.S. Department of Education awarded Kennesaw State University an $8.9 million grant to help prepare education majors to teach in more of an urban setting, such as Osborne High School.


Link To Article


KSU Bagwell College of Education faculty will use the funding by partnering with teachers in the Osborne area to improve the training for educators who teach poor students or those who are learning English as a second language, said Dr. Arlinda Eaton, dean of KSU’s education college.

Eaton applied for the grant last year.

“I am ecstatic,” she said on learning that she was one of 28 universities in the U.S. to receive the funding, paid for through the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

Last school year, KSU recommended 837 people for teacher certification, which in Georgia is second in volume only to the University of Georgia, KSU spokeswoman Frances Harrison said.

The seven Cobb County School District schools in which KSU will partner with are Osborne, Smitha Middle and Birney, Fair Oaks, Hollydale, Labell and Milford elementary schools.

“The Obama Administration is committed to giving teachers the support they need to succeed in the classroom,” U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan said in his announcement of the grants. “The Teacher Quality Partnership grants will improve student academic achievement by strengthening teacher preparation, training and effectiveness and help school districts attract potential educators from a wide-range of professional backgrounds into the teaching profession.”

About 17 percent of the teachers Cobb hires are KSU graduates. Cobb hired about 300 teachers for this school year, 900 for last year and 1,300 the year before that, district spokesman Jay Dillon said.


A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit kennesaw.edu