Faculty Awards

Mary Garner.jpg

Associate math professor Mary Garner won the Kennesaw State University Foundation’s 2009…

Georgia (Sep 8, 2009) — Associate math professor Mary Garner won the Kennesaw State University Foundation’s 2009 Distinguished Professor Award, the university’s top faculty award, which includes a $17,000 prize — $8,500 in cash and an $8,500 faculty development stipend. In all, the foundation awarded more than $193,000 in cash and stipends to outstanding faculty members during the annual opening of school ceremonies. More winners:

Link To Website

Philip C. Preston Award for Distinguished Community Service

Keisha Hoerrner, associate professor of communication, chair, first-year programs
Tommy & Beth Holder Faculty Awards
Kimberly S. Ligon, associate professor of adolescent education
Elke M. Leeds, assistant professor of management information systems
Jim M. Elledge, MAPW director and English professor
Akanmu G. Adebayo, history professor
Marina C. Koether, associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry
Valerie A. Dibble, associate professor of art
Brian M. Wooten, director, Center for Student Leadership
Foundation prize for publications or creative activity
Oral L. Moses, music professor
Brett E. Katzman, economics professor
Alice W. Terry, associate professor of social studies education
James R. Piecuch, assistant professor of history
John R. McLester Jr., associate professor of health, physical education & sport science
Sean F. Ellermeyer, math professor
Distinguished Professional Service Award
Hope Baker, associate professor of decision sciences
Distinguished Scholarship & Creative Activity Award
Lucy Ackert, finance professor
Distinguished Teaching Award
Sabine Smith, associate professor of German

“Our 2009 Foundation Distinguished Professor recipient exemplifies excellence in all areas of faculty performance and a deep commitment to blending her faculty work seamlessly across them,” President Daniel S. Papp said. “She is an outstanding classroom teacher, a recognized scholar of teaching and the assessment of learning at the institutional, regional and national levels, and a tireless contributor and leader in institutional and regional professional service.”

A team of faculty and foundation committees reviewed the nominations and selected the award recipients.
“Kennesaw State University is grateful to the KSU Foundation for the various recognition programs and the amount of cash and faculty development funding,” Provost Lendley Black said. “This funding exceeds that of any other university at any level.”



A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit kennesaw.edu