Kennesaw Mountain Writing Project announces 2007 Educational Leadership Award winners

KENNESAW‚ Ga. (June 6‚ 2007) — Three outstanding educators were recently honored for their…

Georgia (Jun 7, 2007) — Kennesaw Mountain Writing Project announces 2007 Educational Leadership Award winners

Stacey Moore


Contact: Director of University Relations
Frances Weyand Harrison

Writer: Stacey Moore‚ 770−423−6343 or

KENNESAW‚ Ga. (June 6‚ 2007) — Three outstanding educators were recently honored for their exemplary work in education during the 2007 Educational Leadership Awards. Sponsored by the Kennesaw Mountain Writing Project (KMWP)‚ the individuals were recognized in three categories: Teacher Leadership‚ Sponsor of Literacy and Teacher of Promise.

Betsy Bunte‚ a teacher at Campbell High School‚ received the 2007 Teacher Leadership Award. This award is presented to a KMWP teacher affiliate who is a leader for other teacher consultants at the local National Writing Project site and who encourages leadership in colleagues. Bunte attended the Kennesaw Mountain Writing Project's Summer Institute in 1998. As English department chairperson at Campbell‚ she continues to excel in teacher leadership through innovative methods for instruction including an upcoming new program for freshman studies.

The 2007 Sponsor of Literacy Award was presented to Carolyn Waters‚ a veteran teacher and curriculum administrator at the Cobb County School District. This award is presented each year to an individual who has demonstrated continuous efforts to improve literacy‚ teacher leadership and the educational climate in today’s schools. Waters has worked closely with the KMWP to develop rich professional learning opportunities for teachers in Cobb County. She also encourages teachers to move beyond the basic curriculum while motivating students to higher achievement.

Mary Stillerman of Smitha Middle School won the 2007 Teacher of Promise Award. This award is presented to a new teacher who shows exceptional ability and commitment within her or his first three years of a teaching career. Stillerman‚ who attended the KMWP summer invitational institute in 2006‚ has been actively involved in a National Geographic field trip project for social studies students.

In addition to the three annual awards‚ two new honors were established: Student Writers of Promise‚ the first of which will be presented to a student writing contest winner in 2008. The award was created in the name of Leslie Walker‚ a long−time teacher at Campbell High School and KMWP teacher leader who recently passed away. A first−time KMWP Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Sarah Robbins‚ executive assistant to the president at Kennesaw State and executive director of the KMWP‚ for her dedication to the project.

The Kennesaw Mountain Project was implemented in 1994 at Kennesaw State University to serve teachers and students of Cobb County and surrounding areas. For more information‚ please contact Dawn Latta Kirby‚ director of the KMWP at 678−797−2243 or visit the KMWP Web site at


A member of the 35−unit University System of Georgia‚ Kennesaw State University is a comprehensive‚ residential institution with a growing student population approaching 20‚000 from 132 countries. The third−largest university in Georgia‚ Kennesaw State offers more than 60 graduate and undergraduate degrees‚ including a new doctorate in education.



A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit