Georgia Author of the Year Awards at KSU to honor state’s literary excellence

KENNESAW‚ Ga. (May 24‚ 2007) − Kennesaw State University will host the 43rd…

Georgia (May 24, 2007) — Georgia Author of the Year Awards at KSU to honor state’s literary excellence

Jeremy Craig


Director of University Relations
Frances Weyand Harrison

Contact/Writer: Jeremy Craig‚ 770−499−3448 or

KENNESAW‚ Ga. (May 24‚ 2007) − Kennesaw State University will host the 43rd annual Georgia Author of the Year Awards banquet on June 2 at Room 400 of the KSU Center.

The banquet begins at 6 p.m.‚ and the awards program starts at 7:30 p.m.

Sponsored by the Georgia Writers Association and KSU‚ the event will honor awardees for books published during 2006. The purpose of the Georgia Author of the Year Awards is to recognize and acknowledge Georgia’s wealth of outstanding writers and to acquaint them with the public and one another‚ thus continuing the state’s rich literary heritage.

The awards honor both independently−published authors and those whose books have been published by traditional publishing houses. All Georgia−resident authors who have been published during 2006 are eligible for the awards. There are 102 nominations this year.

Award categories include fiction‚ first novel‚ creative non−fiction‚ poetry‚ anthologies and children's/young adult literature‚ in addition to a special lifetime achievement award and the Taran Family Memorial Award.

The awards were created in 1964 by the founders of the Dixie Council of Authors and Journalists‚ later becoming the Council of Authors and Journalists. The organization turned over the responsibilities of the awards to the Georgia Writers Association in the 1990s.

Since then‚ the awards have continued to thrive‚ and remain the oldest literary awards in the Southeastern United States.

Last year’s award winners included University of Georgia history professor James C. Cobb for “The Brown Decision‚ Jim Crow and Southern Identity‚” and former President Jimmy Carter for “Our Endangered Values.” Other award winners from the 42nd annual GAYA awards can be viewed at

For maps and directions to the KSU Center‚ please visit

More information about the Georgia Author of the Year Awards and the Georgia Writers Association is available online at A list of nominees for the 43rd annual GAYA awards is available at

Media coverage is welcome. Please contact Jeremy Craig at 770−499−3448 or‚ or Lisa Russell at 770−420−4736 or to confirm attendance.


A member of the 35−unit University System of Georgia‚ Kennesaw State University is a comprehensive‚ residential institution with a growing student population approaching 20‚000 from 132 countries. The third−largest university in Georgia‚ Kennesaw State offers more than 60 graduate and undergraduate degrees‚ including a new doctorate in education.



A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit