Kennesaw State University presents awards to two Foundation trustees

KENNESAW‚ Ga. (Oct. 26‚ 2006) — Two Kennesaw State University Foundation trustees were honored with…

Georgia (Oct 26, 2006) — Kennesaw State University presents awards to two Foundation trustees

Frances Weyand


Contact: Frances Weyand‚ Director of University Relations‚ 770−423−6203 or

KENNESAW‚ Ga. (Oct. 26‚ 2006) — Two Kennesaw State University Foundation trustees were honored with awards at President Daniel S. Papp’s Board of Trustees Inauguration Dinner Monday at the Marietta Country Club.

The Erwin Zaban Prize for Entrepreneurial Spirit was presented to Chester A. Austin‚ retired executive and co−founder of Tip Top Poultry‚ who has been a trustee since 2005. The Clarice Bagwell Medal for Distinguished Service was bestowed upon Mark R. Kirk‚ president of TND Builders Inc.‚ who began his service as a trustee in 1980.

“Both individuals are well deserving of the recognition of these awards‚” said Foundation Board of Trustees Chair Thomas M. Holder. “Chet has been an avid supporter of Kennesaw for years. He is an asset to the board‚ and he has generously supported us with his talents‚ finances and time. Mark is also a key champion for KSU. His contributions to the university are inestimable. It is long overdue for him to receive the Clarice Bagwell Medal. He is always there for Kennesaw‚ always ready and always available to help.”

The Erwin Zaban Prize‚ first awarded in 1991‚ is given annually to an individual or corporation exemplifying exceptional entrepreneurial capabilities‚ values and accomplishments. Recipients must demonstrate a strong respect for education‚ as well as the free enterprise system‚ through their active participation and support in advancing educational practices. Last year’s recipient was WellStar Health System.

The Clarice Bagwell Medal for Distinguished Service‚ first awarded in 1991‚ also recognizes an individual’s selfless‚ long−term commitment to advancing the educational opportunities for students at Kennesaw State. The award provides an opportunity for the university to salute board members who have left an indelible mark on KSU‚ the Foundation and the community. Last year’s winner was Ronald H. Francis‚ vice chair of the Bank of North Georgia and trustee since 1985.


Kennesaw State University is a comprehensive‚ residential institution with a growing student population approaching 20‚000 from 132 countries. The third−largest university in Georgia‚ Kennesaw State offers more than 60 graduate and undergraduate degrees‚ including a brand new doctorate in education.



A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit