Kennesaw State University faculty member receives Fulbright Scholar award

KENNESAW‚ Ga. (Aug. 30‚ 2006) — Anne R. Richards‚ assistant professor of English at Kennesaw State…

Georgia (Sep 1, 2006) — Kennesaw State University faculty member receives Fulbright Scholar award

Frances Weyand


Contact: Frances Weyand‚ Director of University Relations‚ 770−423−6203 or

KENNESAW‚ Ga. (Aug. 30‚ 2006) — Anne R. Richards‚ assistant professor of English at Kennesaw State University‚ has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant to lecture at the University of Sfax‚ Tunisia‚ during the 2006−2007 academic year‚ according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Richards will teach classes in business English‚ feature writing and rhetoric.

She is one of approximately 800 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad to some 150 countries for the 2006−2007 academic year through the Fulbright Scholar Program. Established in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Sen. J. William Fulbright of Arkansas‚ the program’s purpose is to build mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries.

The Fulbright Program‚ America’s flagship international educational exchange activity‚ is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State‚ Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. During its 60 years of existence‚ thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have studied‚ taught or done research abroad‚ and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the U.S. They are among more than 266‚600 American and foreign university students‚ K−12 teachers‚ and university faculty and professionals who have participated in Fulbright exchange programs.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement and because they have demonstrated extraordinary leadership potential in their fields. Among thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman‚ Nobel Prize−winning economist; Alan Leshner‚ CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Rita Dove‚ Pulitzer Prize−winning poet; and Craig Barrett‚ CEO of Intel Corporation.

For further information about the Fulbright Scholar Program‚ please contact Teresa Liao‚ communications specialist‚ Council for International Exchange of Scholars. Telephone: 202.686.7869 E−mail: Web site:


Kennesaw State University is a comprehensive‚ residential institution with a growing student population approaching 20‚000 from 132 countries. The third largest university out of 35 institutions in the University System of Georgia‚ Kennesaw State offers more than 60 graduate and undergraduate degrees‚ including a brand new Doctorate of Education in Leadership.



A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit