KSU receives special designation from National Security Agency

Kennesaw State University has recently been designated as a Center of Academic Excellence in…

Georgia (May 10, 2004) — KSU receives special designation from National Security Agency

Karen Kennedy


Contact: Frances Weyand‚ Director of University Relations‚ 770−423−6203 or fweyand@kennesaw.edu
Writer: Karen Kennedy‚ 770−423−6203 or kkennedy@kennesaw.edu

Kennesaw State University has recently been designated as a Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Education (CAEIAE) by the National Security Agency. This designation recognizes Kennesaw State’s commitment to academic excellence when teaching students who will safeguard our nation’s information systems. KSU is one of only two institutions in the state to receive this designation.

CAEIAE institutions are located throughout the country and serve as regional centers of information assurance (IA) expertise. To receive this designation‚ each institution is evaluated against stringent criteria for measurement based on IA training standards set nationally by the Committee on National Security Systems.

Kennesaw State’s Dr. Michael Whitman‚ professor of information systems and director of the KSU Center for Information Security Education & Awareness‚ and Professor Herb Mattord‚ also with the center‚ completed a comprehensive assessment of the university’s information security education programs and information security practices and submitted the assessment to the National Security Agency as part of the formal review process.

“This designation qualifies the university and the center for restricted National Science Foundation and Department of Defense grants‚ including student scholarship grants‚” Whitman says. “It identifies KSU as a national leader in the instruction and practice of information security.”


Kennesaw State University is a comprehensive‚ residential institution with a growing student population exceeding 17‚400 from 129 countries. The third largest state university out of 34 institutions in the University System of Georgia‚ KSU offers more than 55 undergraduate and graduate degree programs.


A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its nearly 43,000 students. With 11 colleges on two metro Atlanta campuses, Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 6 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit kennesaw.edu